If I were a poet

22 Nov

If I were a plumber

I’d work on your pipes

every single day

till the water flowed pure and warm

I’d put a permanent grin

on your pretty little face

If I were a pilot

I’d lift you above the rainbow

every single day

till the air grows thin and the stars come out

I’d give your beautiful eyes

something to gaze upon

If I were a carpenter

I’d  write a song about it

every single day

till you can’t get the tune out of your head

I’d have you open your sweet little mouth

and sing my silly little carpenter song

If I were a poet

I’d inspire you to reach beyond your grasp

every single day

till you discover there is no end to who and what

you are

I’d have you open up your heart

and let this man of many talents in

 

Leave a Reply

