Don’t ask me why

12 Dec

Dead eye dick with his purple cherries

Don’t ask me why

Lakes full of long john silver

Don’t ask me why

Don’t ask me why the mockingbird doth sing

or why I don’t answer when the telephone rings

the corn is on fire, and the whirlpool has left a nasty ring

Don’t ask me why, Don’t ask me a thing

I don’t know what to say about these things

I tried to climb down the narrow stairs

I tried to help as best I could when you were

lying there naked and mute

but the cows are all crazy and wandering around the freeway

the blood is on my doorstep today

and I just can’t look anymore, I don’t know what to say

Don’t look at me with those eyes of yours

don’t whistle past this particular graveyard

unless you are willing to get bitter and sick to death

unless you can explain all this in words

Don’t ask me why

Don’t pull on my arm

I’m doing my best and my best

is some kind of Christmas loneliness

it’s gone, it’s all gone

there is nothing worth saving left

Don’t ask me why

Leave a Reply

