I fancied myself a rebel

19 Dec

The sign said no shoes no service

and so I slipped on some sneakers

and a cap

and entered just like that

no other covering of any kind

I fancied myself a rebel

without a pause

impulsively doing whatever would

tear away this terrible sense

that I just didn’t exist

Tell me up and I’d be down

Tell me to stay in my room

I’d be all over town

I fancied myself a rebel

without a pause

but nowadays as I see so many

fancy rebels in a fancy rebellious town

I feel that creepy feeling once again

like I’m just a character in a badly written story

a caricature of a sad clown

I feel invisible

but still wanting to hide

from this old guy I am now forced to be

Still a rebel

but a rebel

with many painful pauses

and no more shoes

 

Leave a Reply

