I think about her now and then

20 Dec

When the weight of memory causes

a headache

and I can’t keep on thinking it will

all be fine

I think about her now and then

her blue eyes cold and crisp

penetrating

and in the midst of every conversation

I could feel the silence within her words

Would I, could I, ever really find my way

within her crystal palace of serene perfection

Me? with my imperfections on my sleeve?

When the knives of self-examination

and the stench of self-neglect

become too much even for me

who normally enjoys an evening of self-pity

I think about her now and then

and how she and I would dance

without moving an inch

approach and avoid

until finally the song came to an end

leaving me unaware

dancing in the silence

by myself

to the same old song

what did I do wrong?

Leave a Reply

