What Christmas means to me

25 Dec

Ecstatic anticipation of my desires

fulfilled

And all is fine and right

for a Child is born who will lead me out

of the darkness of my ignorance and fear

and into the light of perfect love and knowledge

Some stories ring true in way I cannot explain

Some stories have such a weight

I can never hope to carry

They contain the faith of the world

That there is more than disappointment and death

More than gratification and wealth

If I look to the Star and follow that invisible path

There is a place where the many colored lights

twinkle with delight

a place where imagination is truth

and love is never doubted

only celebrated

This is what Christmas means to me

There is more than what meets the eye and ear

and if I knew what treats await me

when I awake upon a brand new day

I’d never have a reason to cry again

Each day a child is born and the veil is lifted

and the sadness shall pass into forgetfulness

and the gladness will fill our hearts

This is what is possible

It’s what Christmas means to me

Leave a Reply

