I want to be loved

2 Jan

I want to be loved

I cried

as I felt the stones

strike my cheek

It took all of my strength

to turn the other

When they see in me

what they despise in themselves

Love is replaced with a stern demeanor

Judgement replaces compassion

and another half-baked pot

crumbles into dust

I want to be loved even more

than respected and admired

I don’t really care as much for

medals and statues upon the mantle

as I do for acceptance and tolerance

for what you see in yourself

and what you see in me

So put down those stones

For we all want love

Don’t we?

 

Leave a Reply

