I guess I will have to do it myself

28 Jan

I have yet to reap the benefits

of this capitalist utopia of America

I get by, as best I can

It would be wrong to rely on others

for they are just like I

still waiting to stick their thumb

into some fresh hot capitalist pie

I guess I will have to do it myself

survive, I mean

whatever I can manage

and I ask myself

where is the compassion?

in a world built on profit?

in a place where I am asked to understand

it’s just business

nothing personal

but in the midst of all this capitalist bliss

it is all very personal

Just like all the other times I have been on the brink

I guess I will have to do it myself

it is the capitalist way

the American way

nobody owes me a thing

and I have only myself

to reward or to blame

Leave a Reply

