Surprise!

9 Feb

Surprise! makes me happy

Surprise! makes me cringe

and even though I say I hate surprises

Surprise! keeps me interested and alert

Surprise! keeps me thin

and it seems to me on what’s seems an

ordinary morning like any other

I know that Surprise! lurks around every corner

but Surprise! can come in many forms

Surprise! can save my ass

Surprise! can also kill

Why do we spend billions of dollars just so

we can peer out into the unknown vastness?

Surprise! Surprise! Surprise! without end

enough to fill a hundred billion Star Trek episodes

there is comfort in the familiar but

it is not why I am here

I am here for

Surprise!

Leave a Reply

