tried by error

6 Mar

i’ve been tried by error

each person has given their verdict

and each person has been wrong

for i appear as if reflected in a shattered mirror

each person sees a jagged fragment

nobody can see beyond the fracture

the accident that occurred

the error in judgement when i came into this world

left a guilt which colors and distorts

my face, each time i attempt to show the truth

my image breaks anew into many, many parts

and so only the most circumstantial evidence

can ever be given in a case like mine

somebody thought they saw something

another thought i was someplace else

a different walk, a different voice, a different face

a fragment, a mistake

tried by error

by a jury consisting of shards of glass

scattered across time

my accusers, my bullies, my buddies, my companions

my jury of peers

Leave a Reply

