slipping away

7 Mar

I can feel my life easing away

into a deep and unknown place

and yet I live the same as always

as if nothing is taking place

slipping away into a world without name

where I see faces but never know the name

I’ve forgotten how to swim, and so I only float

and ease away softly without a false note

quietly and gently and without complaint

I am becoming what I was before I was

someone I can no longer remember

slipping away into a growing chorus of long ago

an ancient gathering singing the forever song

and then, and then…the light becomes brighter

and I……

I forget

Leave a Reply

