Tickling the ivories of a new dawn

10 Mar

So here I am before the Sun

Tickling the ivories of a new dawn

Just barely awake, I try to recall but cannot

what murky endeavors were made in the distant night

while dawn is near, dawn is calling, clear and crisp

wearing fresh white linen and smelling of lilac

So here I am alone and shivering in the cold

as the darkness slowly gives up the ghost

rising, rising tenderly, and I can hear their call

“Get, get up! You sleepyhead.”

Time to attend, time to flex your fingers and begin

tickling the ivories of a new dawn

I stand and stretch and feel my breath

I am here

This is life

Today

Leave a Reply

