I’m an April Fool

1 Apr

Can’t think of a poem to write

on this frivolous day of tricks

I feel I’ve been turned by the trade

but I will try to take this broken step

in stride and smile for no particular reason at all

I’m an April Fool

my balloon is made out of bricks

on sunny days I remember to bring my umbrella

I can never seem to put it together

if I were a ball

i’d refuse to bounce

i think there is a place where i think i might belong

but everybody says i’m a fool to think so

I’m an April Fool

a living lie

my feelings are all filled with crazy exaggerations

and things that could never be

true

except as a joke

I’m an April Fool

and the joke’s on me

and I had hoped this poem would have been

funnier, but

i’ve been funny for far too long

Leave a Reply

