“I am protected”

4 Apr

Like a voice in the darkness

a sudden bit of warmth in the cold

“I am protected” she said

and turned her face away

before I could see

leaving loneliness

a grief not for the dead, but

for the living

there is something more than this

I am told, but for now I must

venture on unknowing, only trusting

“I am protected and I am loved” by

so many and what I do and what I say

can be so very important

Is it only my heart felt fantasy

a recurring dream

of so many Mothers and Fathers

Sons and Daughters

seemingly cast out into the cold

to fend for themselves?

but if only we could see and know

one day there will be no cold

no more alone

“I am protected.”

Leave a Reply

