The dust of a thousand sins

14 Apr

They are digging up the streets again

and the ripping, and the grinding, and the drilling

cannot be avoided

The dust of a thousand sins

flow into my lungs and threaten to poison

my indomitable will to be true to my desire

robbing me of my dreams

leaving me like a live wire twisting and turning

and burning with a lethal light

The dust of a thousand sins

reducing my walk to a limp

and my bones are like tinker toys

unearthed by the this mindless machine

ripping, and tearing, gouging and splitting

up the forgotten horrors of

forgone centuries

and yet I will not lie down in despair

over what was done before I had this face

I will live and live yet again

In defiance of this mindlessness

Leave a Reply

