I guess I’ll never learn

13 May

I grew up taking foolish chances

and my Mother would always ask me

“Will you ever learn?”

I thought perhaps with the passage of time

and many chances leading to broken bones

I would finally obtain this precious knowledge

which could protect me from harm

and I suppose I have, in a fashion

because I have learned that knowledge can be

a dangerous thing

leading down many a dark passage

sometimes it is better just to take a flying leap

not knowing any better

mistakes are made

a price is indeed paid for such a casual approach

but to learn is also to limit

so much is missed by the educated mind

which is obvious to the idiot

I guess, then

I’ll never learn

I’ll keep taking foolish chances

Leave a Reply

