I take pride

28 Jun

I have lived my life exactly as I have intended

and in this

Just like Frank Sinatra

I take pride

and I try to accept people on their own terms

without judgement or sarcastic comment

and in this

like the man who leaves no footprint

I take pride

except that pride may not actually be the right word

because pride always suggests shame

just as white always suggests black

and sunshine rain

as if just merely being were not enough

we are who we are

perfect when viewed by an uninfected eye

completely without artifice

without a single false note

I take pride, indeed I do take pride

when I see how I have more than survived

I have prospered

just as the flowers grow from a mulch

I have grown from my out of my shame and self-hate

to be as I am

Leave a Reply

