Island of Self-satisfaction

19 Jul

All these years I thought I had lived

upon an Island of Self-satisfaction

but instead I lived upon a thumb

sticking up so nakedly as if to say

“Here I am! and I’m not going back.

I’m as satisfied as a turtle lying on his back.”

and the bridges that were built so long ago

began to crack from minor complaints and now

are covered with a film of dissatisfaction

and letting in the sea

and people from all over the world

come to my island that is not really an island

I can’t understand what they are saying

or why they choose to photograph the things they photograph

perhaps they hope to gain a little satisfaction of their own

so much work to be done

too many bridges leading to too many places

so much dissatisfaction

I can’t hope to repair them all

Leave a Reply

