a silver thread

7 Dec

another dream from which i

struggled to awaken

another old friend whose face

had not aged a day

a silver thread stretches out

from the tips of my fingers

so thin it cannot be seen

but i felt it’s tug

as i walked and walked along

a muddy path

leading to my friend from long ago

as well as faces i didn’t know

but they knew me

they reached out to touch me

comfort me

for i was so very far from home

and sad

and lonely in my only ness

now as this dream has faded

a silver thread

crossing that line between

wakefulness and sleep

aliveness and death

and back again

that’s a pretty strong thread

indeed

Leave a Reply

