coaching myself

2 Jan

Are you a bull? the woman who was

clearly in charge enquired

pointing to her scarlet scarf

Yes. Yes I am. I replied as

the wind swept round our faces

it was going to rain within seconds

and my partner then arrived

just in time

I had been coaching myself for

years, just for this day

beside a windswept lake

She seemed ready, as ready as

she could be for such an occasion

as this, as prepared as we were

coaching ourselves

keeping our eye on the ball for weeks

can we steer these turbulent skies

can we guide the rain?

I am a bull, and I have been coaching myself

for the day I see red

 

Leave a Reply

